top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMegan Ferguson MSW RSW

I Did Not Always Want to Be a Social Work, but I am Proud that my Path Led Me to Social Work

Hey everyone! Happy Wednesday! Bringing you a blog post, which I will post every Wednesday. I know very exciting.


Anyways, I decided to talk about the path that led me to social work today, as I did not always want to become a social worker. Maybe I should explain this further; I didn't initially want to become a social worker not because I don't love being a social worker, but because I didn't take the opportunity and many signs from the universe seriously.


I began ballet at age two, instantly fell in love with the art and wanted to move to New York to become a professional dancer at a young age. It was not until I fractured three of my metatarsals at age 14 where this dream was shattered. With my broken foot, I attending all my dance classes, but eventually made the tough choice of quitting dance to allow my foot to heal. Since I could not pursue a career as a dancer, I was forced to re-evaluate my career goals. By age 16, I was determined to become a Speech-Language Pathologist, and took Psychology and Family Studies at the University of Winnipeg Collegiate from a teach named, Mr. Cowan. Mr. Cowan supported my pursuit to become a Speech Pathologist, but always told me to consider becoming a social worker, as I received the highest mark in Family Studies during my grade 12 year.


After high school graduation, I attended the University of Winnipeg to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Biopsychology, to eventually complete my Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology at the University of North Dakota. However, after my first semester at the University of Winnipeg, I was not sure that Speech-Language Pathology played to my strengths and aptitudes. At this point, I still wanted a career in a helping profession and pursued social work due to its generalist framework and versatility. Once I told Mr. Cowan that I was going to pursue a degree in social work, he was quite pleased and introduced me to his wife, Lisa, who is the Executive Director of Tamarack Recovery Centre, a 60-day treatment centre for individuals overcoming addiction. I remember many afternoons sitting with Lisa, discussing the opportunities that are associated with pursuing a degree in social work. I also began volunteering at Tamarack Recovery Centre at this point in time. I was a volunteer for 3 years and worked there for 2 years.


Initially, when I began my social work degree, I attended Booth University College for my first year of social work, due to not being admitted into the University of Manitoba Social Work Program. Booth University College provided an environment to develop core social work skills, but the following year, I was admitted into the Faculty of Social Work at the University of Manitoba. The University of Manitoba provided enormous opportunities for scholastic and academic advancement as well as personal growth. I was also able to enroll in the Option in Aging Program, which allowed me to specialize in aging and was not offered at other universities at an undergraduate level. This was very important for me, as at that time I had 7 years (now 14 years) working with older adults (inclusive of volunteer and work experience). I still do now!


I completed my Bachelor of Social Work degree at the University of Manitoba in April 2016 and my long-term goals involve working in a leadership or management role in social work. So I began working on the Neuro-rehabilitation Unit at Riverview Health Centre where I worked with individuals and families overcoming an acquired brain injury or stroke. I also enrolled in a Masters of Social Work Program in 2017 through University of Calgary and graduated in 2019.


With my Masters of Social Work degree I now work within a Clinical Lead role at Seven Oaks Hospital and have my own private practice. I am extremely proud of myself for becoming a social worker and I am extremely blessed. I actually remember many conversations with my mom growing up telling me that she thinks I should go into social work and look at me now.


No path is linear, but I sure am proud and lucky to call myself a social worker.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page